International Civil Aviation Organisation

Aviation is a global activity and it is therefore necessary to have a set of rules and procedures which are common across this international industry to ensure the safe and expeditious operation of aircraft.

This was recognized by the Chicago Convention on Civil Aviation which established the concept of an International Civil Aviation Organisation (ICAO) which would be required to develop a framework within which international air transport could grow safely and effectively. The Convention was signed on 7th December 1944 and came into effect on 4th April 1947.

To achieve this, ICAO, in consultation with its member states, has produced a number of Annexes to the Convention. Each Annex is dedicated to a specific aspect of the aviation industry and together they provide an integrated set of regulations designed to safeguard the essential elements that support the global aviation industry.

Each Annex identifies a minimum set of requirements known as STANDARDS which are mandatory upon member states and RECOMMENDED PRACTICES which optional measures intended to enhance the level of safety provided by the STANDARDS.

Collectively they are known as ICAO’s Standards and Recommended Practices or SARPS.

The United Kingdom is a signatory to the Chicago Convention and is therefore bound by the ICAO Standards and so, by extension, are the Overseas Territories including the Cayman Islands.

In addition to the ICAO Annexes, the Overseas Territories are also subject to the requirements of the Air Navigation (Overseas Territories) Order (AN[OT]O) and through it, the Overseas Territories Aviation Requirements (OTARS) which are the vehicles for the application of the ICAO Annexes within the Cayman Islands Legal System. In some cases, the OTARs amplify or enhance the